Trolling motor swap

Trolling motors, Fish Finders, GPS, Batteries, anything Electrical, post it here.
gfa1964

Trolling motor swap

Post by gfa1964 »

New to the forums here! Just purchased a 1982 Bass Tracker with the original trolling motor on it. Have a newer one to replace it with but the plugs are very different. Both are 12 volt Motor Guides. Older is a 28lb thrust and the newer one is a 40lb. Is it as simple as changing out the receptacle on the bow or is it more involved. Oh yeah, I know very little about wiring. Thanks for replies in advance.

bulrid8

Trolling motor swap

Post by bulrid8 »

May be easier to swap the plug end on the trolling motor.

TNtroller

Trolling motor swap

Post by TNtroller »

If the plug and receptacle are in good shape, just cut the plug off the old TM and splice it onto the new TM.

bgeddes

Trolling motor swap

Post by bgeddes »

While I have no specific knowledge of your model of boat, I would check the size of the wire going to the original plug. The new motor will require more current and therefore may need a little larger wire. If the manufacturer offered a larger trolling motor as an option, the wires are probably big enough. Just something to think about.

JMichael

Trolling motor swap

Post by JMichael »

bgeddes » 30 Mar 2014, 20:52 wrote:While I have no specific knowledge of your model of boat, I would check the size of the wire going to the original plug. The new motor will require more current and therefore may need a little larger wire. If the manufacturer offered a larger trolling motor as an option, the wires are probably big enough. Just something to think about.
+1 Don't just assume that the existing wiring will handle the extra amp draw or you may end up burning up some wires and possibly having to deal with a fire. :shock:

gfa1964

Trolling motor swap

Post by gfa1964 »

Thanks for the input, I wouldn't have thought about the wiring not being heavy enough. Any advice on what guage to replace it with?

ccm